"MEET VISA: An experience like no other"

"MEET VISA: An experience like no other"

It is so humbling to be selected as one of the 100 girls from a pool of 1000!

·

3 min read

In this blog, I would like to take you through my day at Visa. Hope you are all excited!

What is MEET VISA?

Meet Visa is an event organized by Visa Bengaluru for girls pursuing their 2nd or 3rd year of Bachelor's degree from some colleges. It is primarily to let us know about what Visa is and what it does along with some fun challenges and Visa's vision to bring equity with delicious lunch we got to listen to stories from Women leaders at Visa and speed mentoring by some senior technologists at Visa.

The start!

What an exciting way to start our day with lots of goodies on our chairs and a great breakfast to have! As soon as we entered we were treated so special, we had our mojito and got to our table which was allocated and then starts our madness, we started to click a few pictures and the meet started!

The meeting started with the amazing and energetic host welcoming us and then we listened to stories of employees there at Visa, this is my first ever professional meeting. People were so humble and energetic. We were asked to solve a few riddles for fun and whoever answered right got goodies which were fun. We are given a chance to ask questions. Then the Early careers team at Visa answered our questions regarding our resume, communication skills and many questions that we would have in our mind about how can we get the HR impressed. It was a very helpful session though.

Post the delicious lunch...

This session is something that I loved. Especially because I come from a family where nobody has an idea about Industry, I have heard and known that women play a significant role, but I have never seen women being the leaders. I mean it's so good to see and me being a girl at a stage of learning to see women working is so empowering. They have shared their stories in life and work. I have learned a lot from their stories and words.

Then there was a session called speed mentoring where technologists at Visa come to our table and answer our questions. It was so amazing to get answers from them and know their real-life experiences.

After that great mentoring, we have a session with young professionals at Visa and how is their journey from being college girls to working professionals. It was so relevant. They answered our questions and the session was pretty interesting.

Everything that has a start has an end. So, the meeting wrapped up with an office tour at Visa.

My learnings

I am a girl with a lot of dreams and we are the first generation of our family to pursue under graduation and so I have never been to such meets and I have never seen a typical IT office where people work.

It is so good to see what the working environment at a large company looks like and meet so many people from various colleges in Bengaluru and see Women as leaders!

I have learned so much from the meet and genuinely there is a lot that I got back home. Their stories were so inspiring and their pieces of advice were truly great and helpful.

Things I learned!

  1. Be you and have your own story.

  2. ASK - people often feel ashamed to ask questions but do that. It helps!

I feel extremely greatful for all those who worked hard to make the event happen for us and there is alot to learn from people there.

It was great to know about work in the industry as well as life.

Lets meet in the next blog and hope it helped.